Skip to Content

Graduate Council

The Graduate Council is the advisory group within The Graduate College. The Graduate Council governs the policies of The Graduate College, and these policies are administered by the graduate dean. Besides the graduate dean, who serves as chair, the Graduate Council is composed of a voting representative of each department offering only a graduate major or minor or support courses.  


  • recommends Graduate College policies to the dean of The Graduate College, who in turn administers the policies or submits recommendations to the provost and vice president for Academic Affairs and the president's cabinet
  • reviews standards for admissions, retention and enrollment patterns, in concurrence with the dean
  • approves membership standards for graduate faculty

Graduate Council

Dr. Andrea Golato, Dean, The Graduate College, Chair
Dr. Farhad Ameri, Associate Professor, Engineering Technology (2019-2019) (R)
Dr. Sonya Armstrong, Associate Professor, Curriculum and Instruction ~ Developmental Education doctoral programs (R)
Dr. Angela Ausbrooks, Associate Professor, Social Work (2016-2019) (R)
Dr. Alejandro Barcenas Pardo, Assistant Professor, Philosophy (2018-2021) (R)
Dr. Scott Bowman, Associate Professor, Criminal Justice (2015-2019) (R)   
Dr. Tricia Burke, Associate Professor, Communication Studies (2018-2020) (R)
Dr. William Chittenden, Associate Professor, Finance and Economics (2013-2019) (R) 
Dr. Christina Conlee, Professor, Anthropology doctoral and master’s programs (R)  
Dr. Jose Carlos de la Puente, Associate Professor, History (2018-2021) (R)
Dr. Celeste Domsch, Associate Professor, Communication Disorders (2014-2020) (R)
Dr. Patti Giuffre, Professor, Sociology (2013-2019) (R)
Dr. M. Clay Green, Professor, Biology ~ Aquatic Resources and Integrative Biology doctoral program (R)
Dr. Michel Haigh, Professor, Journalism and Mass Communication (2017-2020) (R)
Dr. Paul Hart, Professor, International Studies (2016-2019) (R) 
Dr. Kelly Haskard Zolnierek, Associate Professor, Psychology (2017-2020) (R) 
Dr. Jan Hodges, Associate Professor, Health and Human Performance (2017-2020) (R)
Dr. Gwendolyn Hustvedt, Professor, Family and Consumer Sciences, (2018-2020) (R)
Dr. Jennifer Irvin, Associate Professor, Materials Science, Engineering and Commercialization doctoral program (R)
Dr. Wesley Jennings, Professor, Criminal Justice doctoral program (R) 
Dr. Chang Ji, Associate Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry (2018-2021) (R)
Dr. James Koschoreck, Associate Professor, Counseling, Leadership, Adult Education and School Psychology ~ School Improvement doctoral program (R)
Dr. C. Scott Kruse, Associate Professor, Health Administration (2017-2020) (R)  
Dr. Clarena Larrotta, Professor, Counseling, Leadership, Adult Education and School Psychology (2017-2020) (R)
Dr. Sam (Hsun Ming) Lee, Associate Professor, Computer Information Systems and Quantitative Methods (2017-2020) (R)
Dr. David Lemke, Professor, Biology (2006-2021) (R) 
Dr. Kasey Martin, Associate Professor, Accounting (2017-2020) (R)
Mr. Brandon McWilliams, Assistant Professor, Theatre and Dance (2017-2020) (R)  
Dr. Anne Hee-Hiong Ngu, Professor, Computer Science doctoral program (R)
Dr. Kay Nicols, Associate Professor, Management (2018-2021) (R) 
Dr. Greg Passty, Professor, Mathematics (2007-2019) (R)
Dr. Ludim Pedroza, Associate Professor, Music (2018-2021) (R)
Dr. Wuxu Peng, Professor, Computer Science (2014-2020) (R)
Dr. J. Yuri Porras, Professor, Modern Languages (2014-2020) (R)
Dr. Nandhini Rangarajan, Associate Professor, Political Science (2016-2019) (R)
Ms. Claudia Roeschmann, Associate Professor, Art and Design (2010-2019) (R)
Dr. Teya Rosenberg, Professor, English, (2017-2020) (R) 
Dr. Jovita Ross-Gordon, Professor, Counseling, Leadership, Adult Education, and School Psychology ~ Adult, Professional, and Community Education doctoral program (2018-2019) (R)
Dr. Chris Russian, Professor, Respiratory Care (2017-2020) (R) 
Dr. Shailen Singh, Assistant Professor, Occupational, Workforce and Leadership Studies (2018-2021) (R) Dr. Lois Stickley, Associate Professor, Physical Therapy doctorate program (R)
Dr. Nikoleta Theodoropoulou, Associate Professor, Physics (2014-2020) (R)
Dr. Vishu Viswanathan, Professor, Ingram School of Engineering (2014-2020) (R) 
Dr. Nicole Wagner, Assistant Professor, Agriculture (2018-2021) (R)
Dr. Susan Waite, Assistant Professor, Curriculum and Instruction (2018-2021) (R)
Dr. Tiankai Wang, Associate Professor, Health Information Management (2015-2021) (R)
Dr. Alex White, Professor, Mathematics ~ Mathematics Education doctoral program (R)
Dr. Pamela Willson, Clinical Professor, St. David’s School of Nursing (2018-2021) (R)
Dr. Gail Zank, Professor, Marketing (2002-2020) (R)
Dr. F. Benjamin Zhan, Professor, Geography doctoral and master’s programs (R)

Ex Officio

Dr. Gene Bourgeois, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs (T)
Mr. Louis Jimenez, University Registrar, Office of University Registrar (T)
Dr. Denise M. Trauth, President, Texas State University (T)