Skip to Content


11th Annual International research conference logo

The Graduate College at Texas State University hosted the 11th Annual International Research Conference for Graduate Students on November 5-6, 2019, on the San Marcos Campus on November 7, 2019, on the Round Rock campus.

More than 130 graduate students from various disciplines at Texas State and from other institutions, including Texas Tech University and the University of Texas at Austin, presented original research findings during poster and panel sessions.

The conference opened on Tuesday, November 5 on the San Marcos campus with welcoming remarks from Dr. Andrea Golato, Dean of The Graduate College, and a distinguished research panel titled "Finding Truth Through Research" consisting of the following award-winning faculty:

  • Dr. Roseann Mandziuk, University Distinguished Professor, Department of Communication Studies
  • Dr. William Brittain, University Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Dr. Michael L. Ippolito, Recipient of Presidential Award for Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activities, Assistant Professor, School of Music

Jenn Idema, Graduate House representative and doctoral student in aquatic resources, served as the panel moderator. This was followed by a reception and poster session, where students received feedback on their presentations from experienced faculty members.

Bharati Naik, an international broadcast journalist based in London, United Kingdom, was the keynote speaker on Wednesday, November 6. Her talk, "Truth and Diversity in Journalism: Why They Matter More Than Ever," reflected Texas State's 2019-2020 Common Experience theme, "Truth."

Following the keynote address, the following top papers were recognized during the awards luncheon:

  • Top Doctoral Paper
    "Whose Truth? Poststructural Feminism as a Theoretical Tool to Center and Explore Multiple Narratives Within the Educación No Sexista Movement in Chile"
    Amy Biedermann, Adult, Professional, and Community Education, Texas State University
  • Top Doctoral Poster
    "Trial by Tabloid: Can Debiasing Training Remedy Pretrial Publicity Effects?"
    Kimberly Wong and Dr. Angela Jones, Criminal Justice, Texas State University
  • Top Master’s Paper
    "An Investigation of Cognitive Decline in Patients with Hypothyroidism"
    Mark Stern, Psychological Research; Dr. Rebecca Deason and Dr. Krista Howard, Psychology, Texas State University
  • Top Master’s Poster
    "Cell Cycle Regulator SAPCD2 Contributes to Poor Prognosis of Pediatric Neuroblastoma"
    Amy Baker, Dr. Liqin Du, and Dr. Zhenze Zhao, Biochemistry, Texas State University
  • Top Paper in the External Category
    "Overcoming Gender Stereotypes Children's Television Programs: A Content Analysis of Avatar the Last Airbender"
    Austin W. Shurtliff, Mass Communication, Texas Tech University; Briana Wright, Mass Communications, Brigham Young University

Concurrent panel sessions with student presentations were held throughout the day on Wednesday, November 6 on the San Marcos campus. Faculty provided valuable feedback to students by serving as chairs and respondents during the various sessions. Graduate House representatives served as moderators during some of the panels.

An opening talk titled "Impact of Academic Research" was held on November 7 on the Round Rock campus with welcoming remarks from Dr. Andrea Golato, Dean of The Graduate College. The talk was presented by Dr. Walter E. Horton, Jr., Associate Vice President for Research and Federal Relations and Chief Research Officer at Texas State University. This was followed by a reception and poster session, where students received feedback on their presentations from experienced faculty members.

The Graduate College thanks our sponsors:

Common Experience; College of Applied Arts; McCoy College of Business Administration
College of Education; College of Fine Arts and Communication; College of Health Professions
College of Liberal Arts; College of Science and Engineering; Office of International Affairs;
Office of Research and Sponsored Programs; Student Affairs; Graduate House of Representatives