Skip to Content


IRC 2015 banner

The Seventh Annual International Research Conference for Graduate Students held on November 17–18, 2015 at the LBJ Student Center was a great success. This year there were more than 180 student authors/coauthors participating in the event. The presentations covered a wide range of topics from a variety of disciplines. Student presenters, moderators, poster session respondents, and panel chairs were from Texas State University as well as from domestic institutions such as Abilene Christian University, Florida State University, Texas Tech University and the University of Texas at Austin. International participants also attended, representing Istanbul Technical University of Turkey and Unversidade do Porto of Portugal.

Graduate Dean Dr. Andrea Golato welcomed the gathering on November 17 at the conference opening and reception. Dr. Ian B. Davidson, Professor of Music, Dr. Jesus F. de la Teja, Professor of History, Dr. Caitlin Gabor, Professor of Biology and Dr. Carmen E. Westerberg, Assistant Professor, Psychology, talked about various aspects of research on the Distinguished Research Panel. Graduate House Representative, Rebecca Silvas, served as the student moderator of the panel. This was followed by a reception and poster session.

Heather M. Haley of the History department at Texas State University won this year’s Research Contest for Top Master’s Paper with her work on American strategies and tactics during the Vietnam War.

Concurrent panel sessions with student presentations were held throughout the day on November 18. Graduate students from various disciplines received feedback from faculty panel chairs, and Graduate House representatives and faculty members served as moderators of some of the panels. Keynote speaker Dr. Victor B. Sáenz, Associate Professor in the Department of Educational Administration and the Center for Mexican American Studies at the University of Texas at Austin, spoke about ensuring the academic success of Latina/o students.

The Graduate College thanks our sponsors:

Common Experience; College of Applied Arts; McCoy College of Business Administration; 
College of Education; College of Fine Arts and Communication; College of Health Professions; 
College of Liberal Arts; College of Science & Engineering; Office of Research and Federal Relations;
International Office; The Graduate House; University Bookstore