Skip to Content


2011 IRC

The Third International Research Conference for Graduate Students was a great success! This year there were nearly 80 graduate student paper presentations with about 150 student authors/coauthors participating in the event. The presentations covered a wide range of topics from a variety of disciplines. Students and judges were from Texas State as well as from other institutions including the University of Texas at Austin, University of Texas at Arlington, Texas Tech University, Abilene Christian University, the University of Southern Indiana, Tecnol o de Monterrey, Mexico, Kookmin University, South Korea.

The conference opened on November 2 with a special panel on Hispanic/Latino research to mark Texas State University’s new status as a Hispanic Serving Institution. Drs. Alejandra Sorto, Ivan Blanco, Sindy Chapa and Maria De La Colina presented papers on various aspects of Hispanic/Latino research and emphasized the need for more research in this area. Dr. Jaime Chain, Dean, College of Applied Arts chaired the panel.  First Amendment expert, Harold Wasserman, JD., professor of law, Florida International University College of Law, gave the keynote address on “Libel Tourism.”  On the morning of November 3, Texas State University Systems Regents’ Professors Dr. John Baccus, Biology (Retd.) and Dr. David Butler, Geography started the conference by presenting their research related to conservation policy and climate change, respectively.

Faculty judges from across the campus and from other universities provided excellent feedback to students on their presentations. ASG Graduate House Representatives served as moderators.

The Graduate College thanks our sponsors:

ASG Graduate House, College of Applied Arts, McCoy College of Business Administration, College of Education, College of Fine Arts and Communication, College of Health Professions, College of Liberal Arts, College of Science & Engineering, Common Experience, Office of Research and Federal Relations, Texas State University Bookstore, University Lectures Committee